Fifa World Cup

FIFA World Cup is the most prestigious tournament of soccer globally. It was founded in 1930, approximately 91 years ago. The World Cup competition for the senior men’s national football teams is operated by the highest governing body of the International Football Association (FIFA).

FIFA World Cup occurs every four years since its inception in 1930, except during the World War between 1942 and 1946. France holds the 21st FIFA World Cup in 2018 hosted in Russia after defeating Croatia 4 goals to 2.

The tournament involves a total of 32 teams, including the host nation, that automatically qualifies. Qualifications are held in between the three years before the fourth year which the competition happens. Every continent holds its qualifiers during this period, before proceeding to the World cup tournament which usually lasts for a maximum of one month.

Over the years, since the inauguration in 1930, a total of 21 World Cup tournaments have been held. During these tournaments, only eight national teams have won the title. Brazil’s national team holds the most wins with five titles while still holding a record of the only team to have participated in all tournaments. Germany and Italy follow suit with four titles each, France, Argentina, and Uruguay, two titles each, and England and Spain, with one each.

The World cup is by far the most loved and watched tournament globally. For instance, the 2006 World Cup tournament attracted a whooping 26 billion viewers with 715 million watching the final which was between France and Italy. It meant that almost a ninth of the planet’s population watched the final game.

Since its inception, 17 countries have had the pleasure to host the World Cup. The countries include Brazil, France, Italy, Germany, Mexico, Sweden, Chile, England, Uruguay, Switzerland, Argentina, Spain, the United States, Japan and South Korea, South Africa, and recently Russia. In 2022, Qatar will host the tournament, making it the first Gulf country to do so while in 2026, United States, Canada, and Mexico will jointly host the prestigious tournament.

According to FIFA, the first international football match took place in 1872 between Scotland and England in Glasgow, Scotland. Qatar hosts the next World Cup competition from 21 November to 18 December 2022.